Belgium has become the 11th country to ratify the Optional Protocol to the Convention on the Rights of the Child on a communications procedure (OP3CRC). The State ratified the treaty on 30 May and children and their representatives will be able to bring complaints against Belgium from the 30 August 2014.

Belgium joins the ranks of Albania, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Gabon, Germany, Montenegro, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain and Thailand who have already ratified the treaty. A further 36 states have signed but not ratified OP3CRC.

Belgium has also become the fifth state to accept the “inter-state” communication procedure which will allow one state to bring a complaint against another. To date, Albania, Germany, Portugal and Slovakia have made declarations agreeing to this mechanism.

You can track the latest ratification news through our ratification around world home page.